EDCC 2018

Iași, Romania 10-14 September 2018

The European Dependable Computing Conference 2018

The European Dependable Computing Conference is a leading venue for presenting and discussing the latest research, industrial practice and innovations in dependable and secure computing, with a long tradition started in 1994 and reaching the 14th edition this year.

EDCC 2018 will be held in Iaşi, Romania between 10-14 September 2018. Located in the North-East of Romania, the city is the main academic, cultural and economic center of the region. In particular, Iaşi is also one of the most important hubs for the ICT industry in the country, hosting software development centers for a variety of large multi-national enterprises.


Main Research Track:

    • Abstract Submission: March 30th, 2018
    • Full Paper Submission: April 13th, 2018
    • Author Notification: June 1st, 2018
    • Camera Ready: July 6th, 2018

Call for Workshops:

    • Workshop proposal submission: January 19th, 2018
    • Workshop acceptance notification: January 31st, 2018

Call for Posters:

    • Submission deadline: July 20th
    • Acceptance notification: July 25th, 2018

Call for Student Forum contributions:

    • Submission deadline: June 27th
    • Author notification: July 4th
    • Camera ready and poster: July 11th

Journal Special Issue (System Dependability – IJCCBS):

    • Submission deadline: June 27th
    • Manuscripts due by:September 7th 2018
    • Notification to authors: December 14th 2018
    • Final versions due by: January 25th 2019
    • Special issue: Early 2019

  • Dependability and security in: safety critical systems and applications, embedded and real-time systems, cyber-physical systems, systems of systems and internet of things, mobile and multimedia systems, autonomic and self-adaptive systems, socio-technical systems, business and e-commerce applications;
  • Fault-tolerant networks, protocols and systems;
  • Hardware and software architecture of dependable systems;
  • Intrusion-tolerant systems;
  • Critical infrastructure protection;
  • Interplay between safety and security;
  • Dependability benchmarking;
  • Testing and validation methods;
  • Dependability modelling and tools;
  • Model-driven engineering approaches;
  • Dependable and secure support for data analytics;
  • Dependable virtualization;
  • Cloud computing;
  • VLSI dependability;
  • Bigdata and fault tolerance in databases and transactional systems;
  • Important Dates


EDCC conference including workshops (regular registration) (early vs late registration): 500 Euro – 625 Euro

EDCC conference including workshops (student registration) (early vs late registration): 375 Euro – 475 Euro

Workshops only registration (early vs late registration): 170 Euro – 270 Euro

Extra social events ticket: 100 Euro.


General Chairs: Emanuel Onica (Alexandru Ioan Cuza University of Iaşi), Pascal Felber (University of Neuchâtel)

Program Chair: Paolo Lollini (University of Florence)

Local Organization and Financial Chairs: Lucian Gâdioi and Diana Trandabăț (Alexandru Ioan Cuza University of Iaşi)

Workshops Chair: Etienne Rivière (Université Catholique de Louvain)

Tutorials Chair: Vikas Jaiman (LIG Grenoble, CNRS)

Students Forum Chair: Miguel Matos (INESC-ID Lisboa)

Posters Chairs: André Martin (TU Dresden) and Valerio Schiavoni (University of Neuchâtel)

Publication Chair: Marcelo Pasin (University of Neuchâtel)

Publicity Chairs:(world) Mohamed Kaâniche (LAAS-CNRS, Toulouse), (local)Lenuţa Alboaie and Sabin Buraga (Alexandru Ioan Cuza University of Iaşi)

Liaison Chairs: (Asia) Xavier Defago (Tokyo Institute of Technology), (North America) Cristina Nita-Rotaru (Northeastern University, Boston), (South America) Elias Duarte (Federal University of Paraná)

Web Chair: Cosmin Vârlan (Alexandru Ioan Cuza University of Iaşi)


Luciana Arantes, Université Pierre et Marie Curie-Paris, France

Simona Bernardi, Universidad de Zaragoza, Zaragoza, Spain

Andrea Bondavalli, University of Florence, Italy

Sara Bouchenak, INSA Lyon, France

Javier Camara, Carnegie Mellon University, USA

Marcello Cinque, Università di Napoli Federico II, Italy

Vittorio Cortellessa, Università degli Studi dell’Aquila, Italy

Michel Cukier, University of Maryland, USA

Rogerio de Lemos, Kent University, UK

Geert Deconinck, KU Leuven, Belgium

Felicita Di Giandomenico, CNR, Italy

Catello Di Martino, Nokia, USA

Tadashi Dohi, Hiroshima University, Japan

Jean-Charles Fabre, LAAS-CNRS, France

Francesco Flammini, University of Linneaus, Sweden

Gerhard Fohler, TU Kaiserlautern, Germany

Baldoino Fonseca, Federal University of Alagoas, Brazil

Marc Frincu, West University of Timisoara, Romania

Barbara Gallina, Malardalen University, Sweden

Benoit Garbinato, Université de Lausanne, Switzerland

Ilir Gashi, City University London, UK

Matti Hiltunen, AT&T, USA

Endadul Hoque, Florida International University, USA

Henrique Madeira, University of Coimbra, Portugal

István Majzik, Budapest University of Technology and Economics, Hungary

Regina Moraes, UNICAMP, Brazil

Ivan Mura, Universidad de los Andes, Colombia

Simin Nadjm-Tehrani, Linköping University, Sweden

Nuno Neves, University of Lisbon, Portugal

Patrick P. C. Lee, The Chinese University of Hong Kong, China

Karthik Pattabiraman, University of Bristish Columbia, Canada

Michael Paulitsch, Thales, Austria

Fernando Pedone, University of Lugano, Switzerland

Matthieu Roy, LAAS-CNRS, France

Juan Carlos Ruiz García, Technical University of Valencia, Spain

Hans-Peter Schwefel, Aalborg University, Denmark

Olaf Spinczyk, Technische Universität Dortmund, Germany

Mario Trapp, Fraunhofer IESE, Kaiserslautern, Germany

Elena Troubitsyna, Abo Akademi, Finland

Tatsuhiro Tsuchiya, Osaka University, Japan

Aad van Moorsel, Newcastle University, UK

Marco Vieira, University of Coimbra, Portugal

Lucian Vintan, University of Sibiu, Romania

Jonny Vinter, RISE Research Institutes of Sweden, Sweden

Hélène Waeselynck, LAAS-CNRS, France

Katinka Wolter, Freie Universität, Germany


Davide Frey, INRIA-Rennes, France

Erwan Le Merrer, Technicolor, France

André Martin, TU Dresden, Germany (co-chair)

Valerio Schiavoni, University of Neuchatel, Switzerland (co-chair)

Marco Vieira, University of Coimbra, Portugal


Miguel Matos, INESC-ID & IST U. Lisboa, Portugal (chair)

Antonio Casimiro – Faculdade de Ciencias, U. Lisboa, Portugal

Domenico Cotroneo – University of Naples, Italy

Rogerio de Lemos – University of Kent, United Kingdom

Felicita Di Giandomenico – ISTI CNR, Italy

Susanna Donatelli – University of Turin, Italy

Hans-Peter Schwefel , Aalborg University, Denmark

Marco Vieira – University of Coimbra, Portugal


Karama Kanoun (Chair – LAAS-CNRS, Toulouse)

Jean-Charles Fabre (LAAS-CNRS, Toulouse)

Felicita Di Giandomenico (Institute ISTI, Pisa)

Johan Karlsson (Chalmers University of Technology, Goteborg)

Henrique Madeira (Universidade de Coimbra)

Miroslaw Malek (Università della Svizzera Italiana, Lugano)

Juan Carlos Ruiz (Technical University of Valencia)

Janusz Sosnowski (Warsaw University of Technology)


Algirdas Avizienis, Lithuania

Brian Randell, UK

Luca Simoncini, Italy



Faculty of Computer Science Iași






Check Also

EuroLan 2017

 Summer School on “Biomedical Text Processing” 13th in the series of Eurolan Schools Biomedical Text …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *